The Immortal books and their order

A short history

The great thing about running a blog like this is I get to see what search engine queries result in people finding my pages.  Sometimes those searches are odd and random, and very occasionally they are actively disturbing, but other times the information is useful.  Every now and then one of those searches is an implied question, like this one: “order of Immortal books”.

Since I’ve been writing short stories for The Immortal Chronicles all summer, this is actually a good question, because it may be hard to tell, without a little research, where to start.  So here’s a quick breakdown.


Immortal_Cover58Publication date: October, 2010 (first edition), February 2012 (second edition).  The reason for the two publication dates is there were two publishers.  Immortal is the first of a trilogy of novels, which can be confusing only insofar as the third book of that trilogy isn’t yet available.

If you are preparing to read Immortal at the Edge of the World (the aforementioned third book of the trilogy) which is coming out on October 2, 2014, you should read this book first.

Hellenic Immortal

Hellenic_Immortal20Publication date: May, 2012.  This is the second book in the trilogy and should be read after the above book and before Immortal at the Edge of the World.

I’m not saying you absolutely must read them in this order, but it will be a tiny bit less confusing.  In a lot of ways Immortal and Hellenic Immortal stand on their own.  The same can’t be said for Edge of the world, which very much relies on characters and situations established in the first two novels.

Immortal at the Edge of the World

Immortal-Edge-of-World-Low-Res-CoverPublication date: October, 2014.  The third book.  Coming soon.  We’re all very excited around here.

So that’s the order of the novels as intended by the author (*waving*).  Unlike the stories below, the novels should be read in the correct order for an optimal reading experience.

The Immortal Chronicles

There are three novellas featuring Adam the immortal from the above novels.  Since they all have pretty covers and Amazon listings and what-not, it’s not all that easy to distinguish them from the novels sometimes, but they are different for a couple of reasons.  First, they can be read in any order.  Second, they can be read independent of the above novels.  Read these and then dive into the novels if you want.

The order of publication is: Immortal at Sea, May, 2014; Hard-Boiled Immortal, June, 2014; Immortal and the Madman, August, 2014.



Liked it? Take a second to support Gene Doucette on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!

No Comments

  1. pat kanzler on June 9, 2018 at 12:39 am

    What happens to EVE?

Leave a Comment